how to do yoga in your living room

I joined a hot yoga studio (Seva Yoga) in November and it was the best…..but unfortunately I had to take a break from it due to low finances (curse you, toronto!). I hope to go back soon but in the meantime, I’ve been using a yoga DVD at home to keep me flexible. I’m just a beginner at yoga but so far I’m enjoying it. I used to go rock climbing a few times a week and really miss it! But it’s always good to try new activities so for now its me and my pretty yoga mat in the living room.

pretty flowers

So what I’ve learned…..yoga isn’t really that hard. At the heart of it is a willingness to listen to your mind and your body and to connect the two. The poses can be technically challenging, but there are always variations that the teachers give you to make it in line with your abilities. Just start slowly at the beginning and see where you end up! It’s more the intention you give it than actually perfecting the poses. I’m nowhere near perfect but in my mind any activity I do to challenge and better myself is totally commendable.

If anyone is in the same boat as me – want to do something active during the winter but don’t have funds – try it out! The DVD was pretty cheap and the best part is the practice you get at pausing your day to give time to yourself.  One of the best pieces of advice I’ve heard is “you have to respect yourself first before others can respect you”. true that.

Here is me practicing the “dancer’s pose” with the TV 🙂 it’s really hard! But fun because I get to imagine I am a ballerina.

where else but your living room can you do yoga in a sweater?
where else but your living room can you do yoga in a sweater?

-Emily 🙂

2 thoughts on “how to do yoga in your living room

Leave a Reply

