easy chocolate macaroon recipe

If you haven’t noticed by now, I only create easy desserts. This is because
1. I am inherently lazy, and
2. I want to eat desserts as soon as possible.

So when I was starved for something sweet the other night and looked in my fridge and only found eggs, I had to reeeeaaallly stretch my brain to think of an egg dessert. But then I remembered “Em, most desserts are made out of eggs. Don’t you remember anything you’ve learned from watching 300 hours of Masterchef?”

Enter….the macaroon. I ran to my cupboard and let out a sigh of relief when I saw I had coconut shreds and honey. These are literally the only ingredients you need to make macaroons! And I added cocoa powder as well to make them chocolatey, because I want everything to be chocolatey.

Ingredients
….in no accurate measurements…

– 3 or 4 egg whites – you do not need yolks for this recipe. Save them in a dish in the fridge until your boyfriend finds them one day and freaks out when you tell him you forgot about them and he has to eat them before they go bad.
– honey – to sweeten, around 1-2 tbsp
– 1 cup coconut shreds
– 1-2 tbsp cocoa powder – optional

ingredients
To make:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Put the egg whites and coconut shreds in a dish and whisk them together with a fork.
2. add honey, and cocoa powder if desired. Stir all together.
3. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper (I buy If You Care parchment paper which is unbleached). Drop loonie-sized dollops of the macaroon mixture on the baking sheet, separated a little bit (they expand a little).
4. Bake for  10-12 min until you see them turning golden brown. This is hard when they already are brown (with cocoa powder) so go by the timer, and your sense of smell.

Cool and enjoy!

macaroons

Leave a Reply

