cranberry pecan chickpea salad

chickpea

For my birthday I went on a picnic in High Park with my favourite people. My best friend made chickpea salad wraps for us, and we were all SO in love with them that I had to go home, find the recipe, and make them myself! Now I am sharing it with you 🙂

Here is the original recipe, from The Simple Veganista – “Cranberry Walnut Chickpea Salad Sandwich”

Ingredients:f
2 cans drained and rinsed chickpeas
1 cup celery, diced – I used cucumbers because I had no celery
1/2 cup organic dried cranberries
1/2 cup walnuts or pecans, roughly chopped – also sunflower seeds
1/2 cup scallions (green onions), thinly sliced- I used finely minced vidalia onion
salt and pepper to taste.

gDressing:
6 tablespoons tahini (ground sesame seed butter) or mayo – I used 3 tbsp each
4 tablespoons white wine vinegar
2 tablespoons water
2 teaspoons pure maple syrup

Chop up all dry ingredients and add to a bowl. Next, mix your dressing together. Scoop dressing over salad and mix = ta da! You’re done 🙂 It is so delicious I am making a batch of it right now. I finally went and bought dry chickpeas instead of canned ones because they are tremendously cheaper, and now I have tons of chickpeas on hand at all times! You just need to soak them overnight then boil them till they are soft.

Nutritional Benefits of this Salad:
chickpeas – full of protein to keep you full, and fibre to keep blood sugar stable. Fibre also helps lower cholesterol.
tahini – a super rich source of calcium
pecans or walnuts – great source of essential fats to help with mood, inflammation, nerve transmission, and hormone balancing
onions – a source of sulphur. Sulphur is essential for beautiful skin because it promotes collagen. The liver also uses sulphur to detox, and to make many powerful antioxidants (including glutathione). COOL!


-Emily

Leave a Reply

